Skip to main content

RWC Sevens 2022 - European Qualifier to be hosted in Bucharest

Rugby Europe and Romanian Rugby Union have announced the dates and venue for the Men’s and Women’s European qualifiers for Rugby World Cup Sevens South Africa 2022.

Four teams in each competition will qualify for the final tournament to be held in Cape Town next September 09-11.​

The show-piece event will take place on July 16 and 17 in the Arc of Triumf Stadium in Bucharest.

The  tournament will consist of 12 teams in each of the events battling it out for the chance to qualify. Both events will take place at the same stadium in a combined event.​

France (Men and Women), Scotland (Men) and England (Men) are already qualified from the previous RWC7s back in 2018 rankings.  

This tournament will include the teams involved in Rugby Europe 7s Championship Series 2021 and a number of teams from the Rugby Europe Trophies Series 2022, the list of participants are as follows:

Men  Women 
Spain  Poland 
Germany  Spain 
Lithuania  Belgium 
Georgia  Wales
Portugal  Germany 
Italy  Romania 
Poland  England 
Czech Republic Italy 
Belgium  Ireland
Ireland  Czech Republic 
Wales ​Next best ranked Trophy team from ‘22​
Next best ranked Trophy team from ‘22​ Next best ranked Trophy team from ‘22​

Ticketing and TV broadcast coverage will be outlined in due course.  

Support Your Team

Sign up to hear first about latest news, video, competitions and more!

Unsubscribe at any time. We will not share your personal information. Read our Privacy Policy