Skip to main content

Rugby Europe 7s Season Announced

Following on from the announcement of the Rugby Europe Championship legs, the other venues and dates for this season’s 7s schedule have now been confirmed.

This season promises to be all action with 72 international teams taking part in the various senior Rugby Europe competitions, as well as four U18 competitions at Championship and Trophy level.

Championship Series

The two legs will take place in Algarve (9-11 June) and Hamburg (7-9 July) this year and will be played either side of the European Games where there will be spots for Paris 2024 up for grabs.

Great Britain return to the fold with the amalgamation of England, Scotland, and Wales respective 7s programmes at Championship level.

Last year’s Series winners Spain (men) and Poland (women) will be expecting to put on another show for the fans but expect them to face strong opposition from the other contenders, such as Germany (Lisbon) and Ireland (Krakow) who each won a leg in the previous edition.

Women’s Competition:

Pool A: Poland, Belgium, Czechia, Romania
Pool B: Ireland, Spain, Germany, Sweden
Pool C: Great Britain, France, Italy, Portugal

Men’s Competition:

Pool A: Spain, Portugal, Lithuania, Czechia
Pool B: Germany, Italy, Georgia, Romania
Pool C: France, Belgium, Ireland, Great Britain

European Games 2023

For the first time ever, Rugby Sevens will be included in the European Games, the continent’s premier multi-sport event developed and organised by the EOC.

The third edition of the European Games will take place in Krakow and the regions of Malopolska and Śląsk where the Rugby 7s event will be held between 25-27 June.

The stand-alone tournament will take place at the Henryk Reyman Stadium in Krakow.

The best twelve European teams (excluding France who qualify as hosts) will compete for one direct spot to Paris 2024 up for grabs, while teams finishing second and third will qualify for the Final Olympic Repechage Tournament.

Women: Belgium, Czechia, Spain, Great Britain, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, Turkiye

Men: Belgium, Czechia, Spain, Great Britain, Georgia, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania

Several teams could still secure automatic qualification ahead of the games depending on their final rankings in the World Series, which concludes in Toulouse (12-14 May) for the women, and London (20-21 May) for the men’s competition.

Trophy Series 

The venues will remain the same as last year in the Trophy with Zagreb hosting the first leg (16-18 June) and Budapest for the second (8-9 July).

Women’s Competition: 

Pool A: Türkyie, Denmark, Moldova, Ukraine
Pool B: Norway, Finland, Israel, Latvia
Pool C: Georgia, Hungary, Austria, Bulgaria

Men’s Competition:

Pool A: Poland, Luxembourg, Denmark, Ukraine
Pool B: Hungary, Israel, Latvia, Moldova
Pool C: Sweden, Croatia, Bulgaria, Switzerland

Conference 1

In the Conference the women’s competition (9-10 June) will be three pools of three with the men’s edition (10-11 June) also following the same format. This will be one leg only and will be played in Belgrade, Serbia

Women’s Competition:

Pool A: Luxembourg, Andorra, Malta
Pool B: Switzerland, Lithuania, Montenegro

Pool C: Croatia, Slovakia, Estonia

Men’s Competition:

Pool A: Türkyie, Serbia, Finland
Pool B: Monaco, Andorra, Bosnia & Herzegovina
Pool C: Austria, Norway, Malta

Conference 2 

At Conference 2 level there will be a single men’s tournament which will be held in Bar with Montenegro the hosts. It will be made up of six teams in one pool and will be played in a round-robin format.

Teams: Montenegro, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Kosovo, Estonia

As well as the senior competitions, there will also be a U18s Championship and Trophy competitions for the boy’s and girls which will take place during the summer.

U18 Championship

U18 Girls Championship: Prague, Czechia (15-16 July)

Pool A: France, Scotland, Ukraine
Pool B: Spain Czechia, Belgium
Pool C: Ireland, England, Poland

U18s Boys Championship: Macolin (15-16 July)

Pool A: France, Lithuania, Belgium, Türkyie
Pool B: Ireland, Czechia, Germany, Switzerland
Pool C: Portugal, Spain, Ukraine, Israel

U18 Trophy

U18s Girls Trophy: Zabki, Poland (22-23 July)

Pool A: Portugal, Türkyie, Lithuania, Wales
Pool B: Hungary, Romania, Andorra, Sweden

U18s Boys Trophy: Zabki, Poland (21-23 July)

Pool A: Poland, Croatia, Hungary, Bulgaria, Bosnia & Herzegovina
Pool B: Romania, Latvia, Moldova, Austria, Serbia
Pool C: Luxembourg, Andorra, Sweden, Monaco

You will be able to watch every game live on further broadcast details will be announced in due course. 

Support Your Team

Sign up to hear first about latest news, video, competitions and more!

Unsubscribe at any time. We will not share your personal information. Read our Privacy Policy