Monday 10 August 2020

Rugby World Cup 2021 European Qualifiers confirmed

Monday, 10 August 2020 : For immediate release 


Dates confirmed for Women’s Rugby Europe Championship 2020 

and Rugby World Cup 2021 European Qualifiers

Rugby Europe has today announced the dates for the postponed fixtures of the Women’s Rugby Europe Championship 2020 and the Rugby World Cup 2021 European Qualifiers.  

Spain feature in the two remaining games of the Women’s REC 2020, which they will play on home soil, when they host Russia on the weekend of October 24/25, before following it up a week later with a game against the Netherlands on October 31.

The winner of the Women’s REC 2020 will join Scotland, Ireland and Italy, who have already been confirmed by World Rugby to take part in the Rugby World Cup 2021 European Qualifiers.

The European Qualifiers will be played as a single round-robin tournament, to be held on the weekends of 5, 12 and 19 of December 2020.

The winner of the tournament will qualify for Rugby World Cup 2021 and the runner-up will progress to the final qualification tournament, which will be organised by World Rugby in 2021.

The first game of the RWC 2021 European Qualifiers will be between Italy and Scotland on 5/6 December 2020.

The full schedule of fixtures and details will be announced in early November following the conclusion of the Women’s Rugby Europe Championship 2020.


Rugby Europe is the governing body responsible for the promotion, development, administration and management of international competitions for the 48 member unions across Europe. The association organizes over 80 international games and 20 rugby tournaments each year, among which Men’s fifteen-a-side European Championships (Championship, Trophy, Conference 1 & 2, Development), U20 and U18 European Championships and all the 7s men and women European competitions, World Cup and Olympics Qualifiers. 

Contact:  Sébastien FAYE – [email protected] : +33 (0)7 86 04 59 47